aseboden.blogg.se

Carbon copy cloner mojave
Carbon copy cloner mojave




  1. #Carbon copy cloner mojave for free
  2. #Carbon copy cloner mojave upgrade
  3. #Carbon copy cloner mojave software
  4. #Carbon copy cloner mojave mac

I tend to be loyal to the products and services I use, which is a bit of a curse. The last thing I would beta test would be my backup software! Carbon Copy Cloner

#Carbon copy cloner mojave software

I truly enjoy running beta software when it’s not mission-critical. When I researched the app on Shirt-Pocket, I learned that the app was still in beta 4 for macOS Catalina. I use Reminders quite a bit and it was annoying as heck that I wasn’t getting reminded of things and couldn’t create new reminders on my Mac.įinally, I got to the point where all of my mission-critical apps and most of my important apps were painted green in iThoughts, designating them as Catalina ready. Apple then did exactly what they said would happen, and erased all of my Reminders on my Mojave Mac.

#Carbon copy cloner mojave upgrade

While Apple gave a HUGE warning on iOS that if you allowed Reminders to upgrade to their brand new database you would lose your Reminders on all of your other non-upgraded devices, I didn’t heed the warning and upgraded. I had one irritant in not going to macOS Catalina right away and that was the Reminders app.

#Carbon copy cloner mojave mac

With the dumpster fire that has been Apple’s recent OS releases, I wasn’t in any hurry to migrate my production Mac anyway so I took my time. I track apps in three categories: mission-critical, important, and less important. When it came time to upgrade to macOS Catalina, I repurposed the mind map I created for my clean installs to keep track of which apps were ready to go. While the website was pretty accessible on VoiceOver, there were a few crucially unlabeled buttons in the app, like the one you need to press to start the clone. Not to pour gasoline on the fire, but the second tab on the shirt-pocket website is for a product called netTunes, and there’s a banner saying that it’s not yet Leopard compatible. The text on the menubar is also is fuzzy and hard to read. The menu bar looks like the old aqua interface from 2000. The website is worse than utilitarian, it’s ancient. Shirt-Pocket WebsiteĪs Bart would say, “SuperDuper! does what it says on the tin”, but it’s not an elegant, pretty application. Maybe you don’t want to back up Dropbox because it’s already in the cloud you could exclude it with your licensed version of SuperDuper!. You can also do incremental backups, so you don’t have to wait for the entire disk to be cloned every time when only a few things have changed.

carbon copy cloner mojave

With the licensed version you can schedule your backups, which I think is essential to make sure they actually happen. The developer, Dave Nanian, allows you to do that and entices you to buy the product by offering extra features.

#Carbon copy cloner mojave for free

I don’t remember how long ago I bought it it’s been so long! You can download SuperDuper! from /… and use it for free to do a full clone backup. I’ve been using SuperDuper! for my local clone backups for ages. Syncing services like Dropbox, Google Drive, OneDrive and iCloud, which are not truly backups, do give you some level of protection from disaster. Between Time Machine, cloning apps like SuperDuper! and Carbon Copy Cloner, Backblaze for offsite backups. In the old days, it was hard to do backups, but nowadays you really have no excuse. I hope you also have off-site backups just in case of fire, flood, hurricane, tornado or even burglary.

carbon copy cloner mojave

I’m sure if you’ve been listening here and to other tech podcasts for any length of time, you have backups. He told the reporter that he didn’t have time to get his laptop which had his children’s baby photos on it … and they weren’t backed up. I was watching the news last week during the awful California fires, and they interviewed a guy who only had time to grab his family and run out of their home before it was engulfed in flames.






Carbon copy cloner mojave